Awards, Honors, Appointments and Recognition

September 23, 2013

Professors Rachel Rigolino (English) and Matt Newcomb (English) received a $20,000 Innovative Instruction Technology Grant (IITG) to design an online site where instructors from across the disciplines can access resources for teaching and writing. IITG is a competitive grants program open to SUNY faculty and support staff across all disciplines. IITG encourages development of innovations that meet the Power of SUNY’s transformative vision. Members of their team include Mary Fakler (English), Joan Perisse (English), Linda Smith (Academic Computing), Kathryn Hurd (Academic Computing), and Lynne Crockett, professor, English, SUNY Sullivan. The IIT Grants are funded by the Office of the Provost, SUNY.

Professor James Halpern (Psychology), director of the College’s Institute for Disaster Mental Health,  has received a $93,169 grant from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) for his project titled “Community-Based Psychological First Aid Training for Palestinians and Israelis: Mitigating Conflict via Mental Health Interventions.”  USAID administers the U.S. foreign assistance program, providing economic and humanitarian assistance in more than 80 countries worldwide.

Professor Victor deMunck (Anthropology) has received an $18,515 grant from the National Science Foundation for his project, “Cultural Models of Nature Across Cultures: Space, Causality, and Primary Food Producers.”

Comments are closed.

Issue Archives

User Login